Technical evaluation

vCISO Lite versus Credo AI

Two purpose-built AI governance platforms sold to different market tiers: Credo AI is a Fortune-500 category-native Visionary in the June 2026 Gartner MQ; vCISO Lite is the SMB and mid-market alternative — Enterprise tier at $8,500/mo bundles Trustworthy Autonomy + Evidence Graph + APRI, with the Evidence Graph also available as a separately licensable integrity substrate.

Prepared
Method
Capability walk against Credo AI’s published product surface (credo.ai/product) and vCISO Lite’s live platform. Both vendors’ Gartner MQ pages consulted for 2026 placement.
Sources
credo.ai, credo.ai/product, credo.ai/recognition, vcisolite.com product surfaces, and Regulation (EU) 2024/1689 (Articles 12, 99). See §10.
Corrections
Both vendors invited to review. Send corrections to /contact; the “Prepared” date above is bumped on any material update.
On this page · 10 sections

TL;DR

Findings§1

Where Credo AI leads

  • Fortune-500 customer roster. Mastercard, Microsoft, IBM, Databricks, Booz Allen, Principal Financial, AdeptID, McKinsey.[1] vCISO Lite serves SMB and mid-market; segment overlap is deliberate.
  • 2026 Gartner MQ Visionary. Named in the inaugural June 16, 2026 Magic Quadrant.[2] vCISO Lite is not on the quadrant (Gartner criteria emphasize Fortune-500 segmentation).
  • Agent-framework integration depth. First-class integrations with LangChain, CrewAI, AutoGen, Azure AI Foundry, Databricks, MLflow.[4] Buyers running production agents natively on those stacks get connector-based discovery Credo has shipped and hardened.
  • LLM-specific adversarial probes. Jailbreak / prompt-injection / bias / drift testing shipped in Risk Intelligence.[3] vCISO Lite’s red-team-service covers MITRE ATT&CK outside-in testing; the LLM-specific probe library is roadmap.
  • Fast Company Applied AI #6.[5] Note the methodology: editorial curation from company submissions, not analyst diligence — the signal is narrative reach, not rated product.

Where vCISO Lite leads

  • A knowable Enterprise-tier number. $8,500/mo flat MSRP bundles Trustworthy Autonomy + Evidence Graph + APRI. Lower tiers $299–$1,499/mo on /pricing don’t include AI-Gov features. Credo AI is contact-sales at every tier.
  • 250+ SCF-cross-mapped frameworks, 1,468 universal controls. Credo AI ships 4 AI-specific frameworks; buyers typically pair them with a second GRC tool for the broader program.
  • APRI vs GAIA — same chatbot category, different substrate. APRI is our MCP tool graph + evidence-backed answer surface. Caller-entitlement scoped, every tool call recorded, observe-first with confirmation gates. Live MCP endpoint at mcp.vcisolite.com for Claude + Cursor. Credo AI ships GAIA; the technical shape is similar, the evidence-anchoring is not.
  • Trustworthy Autonomy — public beta, published eval harness. Autonomous operations layer since 2026-07-07. Grades agent by task category with pass rates + failure cases visible pre-purchase. Credo AI’s Agent Governor is research preview; no comparable public harness.
  • Evidence Graph — externally-anchored. RFC-3161 external timestamp anchor; auditor re-derives without trusting the platform. Credo AI’s audit trail is platform-internal.
  • Evidence Graph SDK is licensable. Embed the same integrity in a partner product, an internal system, or an insurance pipeline. Optionality Credo doesn’t offer.
  • Founder-direct. [email protected] reaches the founder, not an enterprise SDR queue.

Scope & evaluation criteria

Boundaries§2

In scope

Buyer profile
SMB and mid-market operators (25–1,500 employees) evaluating a purpose-built AI governance platform to cover agent inventory, policy enforcement, framework-mapped evidence, and runtime autonomous operations. Fortune-500 CIO / CDO evaluations are Credo AI’s home turf and are noted where relevant; they are not the buyer this page is written for.
Evaluation frame
Ten capability categories the SMB and mid-market buyer is evaluating BOTH tools for. Not: everything each product does.
Comparison basis
Published product documentation, live product surfaces, vendor recognition pages, and Gartner primary press notice. Not: analyst reports behind Gartner’s paywall, vendor-sponsored bakeoffs, or internal-only NDA material.

Out of scope

Fortune-500 deployments
Credo AI’s Fortune-500 customer wins — Mastercard, Microsoft, IBM, Databricks, McKinsey — are earned and defensible. This page does not litigate whether Credo AI is the right choice for the F500 CIO with a $500K+ GRC estate; it is.
Agent Governor research preview
Credo AI’s Agent Governor is a research preview as of September 2026 and is footnoted where public; its shipped-state capabilities are compared, not roadmap intent.
Roadmap
Only shipped, generally-available or public-beta capability is compared. Private-preview capabilities are footnoted where public.

Capability coverage

Ten capabilities§3

Amber = Credo AI ships it. Teal = vCISO Lite ships it. Split = both ship it (weighted when one is materially stronger). Hover a hex for the mechanism detail.

Capability deep-dives

How each side implements it§4

Five capabilities, one spec-card per side. Same slots on both cards so the reader can eye-compare row by row. Framework decomposition lives in §5.

DEVELOPER’S APP PROCESS · CLOUD / LAMBDA / VM / LAPTOPTheir agentLangChain / CrewAI / AutoGenstepCredo SDKcallback handlerIf SDK not installed → agent is invisible (shadow AI).HTTPSCredo AI backendpolicy eval · evidence writeregistry updateCompanion: static Git-repo scangrep for framework imports · flags where SDK is not installedShadow-AI flagscode found · SDK not installed
Discovery = “inventory of instrumented code.”Credo’s LangChain / CrewAI / AutoGen “integration” is an SDK + callback-handler pattern — the same shape LangSmith, Langfuse, and W&B Weave use for observability. The SDK reaches everywhere the code runs (cloud, laptop, on-prem, air-gapped) without needing cloud credentials; passive scanners can’t do that. Tradeoff: agents where the SDK isn’t installed remain invisible until the Git-repo scan catches them.
§4.1

AI Registry & agent discovery

Both platforms ship model + agent inventory with shadow-AI detection. The difference is what the inventory is evidence-anchored to and whether the record survives an adversarial auditor.

Credo AI

AI Registry, Agent Registry, dependency graphs, shadow-AI detection, live inventory. Feeds the governance knowledge graph.

Inputs
Cloud-account scanning (AWS, Azure, GCP, Databricks, Snowflake), Git repositories, SaaS integrations.
Outputs
Live AI inventory · risk-tier assignments · dependency map · policy inheritance.
Evidence
Platform-internal record; Credo AI’s proprietary logging.
Fails when
Auditor asks to independently verify the discovery record without trusting Credo AI’s logs.
vCISO Lite

Same inventory + discovery primitives, plus every registered asset is bound to the Evidence Graph.

Inputs
Same integrations. Discovery events feed the evidence chain.
Outputs
Live inventory · policy binding · framework-control mapping · signed record per registered asset.
Evidence
Hash-chained record anchored to RFC-3161 external timestamp authority; re-derivable by an auditor who does not trust vCISO Lite.
Fails when
Discovery integration coverage doesn’t match Credo AI’s LangChain / CrewAI / AutoGen agent-framework depth for buyers running those stacks.
§4.2

Policy engine & framework mapping

Both platforms map policy to framework controls. The decisive difference is which frameworks.

Credo AI

Pre-built regulatory packs, governance workflows, audit trails. Insights Hub, policy packs, risk library.

Inputs
Regulatory content, business-context inputs, AI system configurations.
Outputs
Policy binding · framework mapping · workflow automation.
Evidence
Compliance dashboards + platform-internal audit trail.
Fails when
The buyer’s program has to cover HIPAA, PCI DSS, DORA, NYDFS Part 500, FedRAMP, or CMMC alongside AI governance — Credo AI’s framework list is AI-specific.
vCISO Lite

Policy engine mapped across 250+ SCF-cross-mapped frameworks (1,468 universal controls) — every framework the mid-market buyer’s program actually touches.

Inputs
SCF-mapped control matrix, evidence chain data, live system state.
Outputs
Policy binding · framework mapping · evidence-chain anchoring.
Evidence
Signed chain per policy decision · re-derivable framework-mapping trace.
Fails when
Buyer specifically needs Credo AI’s NYC LL144, Colorado AI Act, or other jurisdictional AI-specific frameworks that vCISO Lite does not publish today.
§4.3

Autonomous operations layer

Both platforms are working toward the same thing: a governed layer where AI agents actually run real work on the buyer's behalf. The difference is what's already shipped.

Credo AI

Agent Governor — research preview as of September 2026. Preview-tagged module inside the broader product; capability set and rollout timeline not publicly disclosed.

Inputs
Agent runtime traces, policy definitions.
Outputs
Human-in-the-loop escalation · GAIA remediation.
Evidence
Not disclosed for the preview.
Fails when
Buyer needs a shipped autonomous-operations layer today for production AI-agent workflows.
vCISO Lite

Trustworthy Autonomy — the autonomous operations layer of vCISO Lite, running on the Evidence Graph substrate. Public beta since 2026-07-07. This is the shipped answer to what Agent Governor is chasing.

Inputs
Agent action requests · policy state · framework-control mapping · evidence chain state.
Outputs
Signed authorization decision per action · agent execution · evidence-chain record before AND after the action.
Evidence
Every autonomous action recorded to the Evidence Graph; published evaluation harness grades the agent by task category with pass rates + failure cases visible pre-purchase.
Fails when
Buyer needs GA (not public-beta) autonomous action at trust-ladder rung 2 (scoped autonomy) or rung 3 (goal-oriented) today — those reach GA H1 2027 and H2 2027+ respectively.
§4.4

Evidence chain & audit-trail integrity

The question an auditor / insurer / regulator will ask about the AI agent’s actions after the fact. The chain that answers it has to be re-derivable without trusting the platform that produced it.

Credo AI

Audit trails live inside Credo AI. Platform-internal logging, exportable.

Inputs
Agent trace evaluation, policy violation events, remediation records.
Outputs
Audit dashboards · exportable log · compliance evidence generation.
Evidence
Log entries in a proprietary store; verification requires trusting Credo AI’s own reporting.
Fails when
Adversarial auditor asks to verify the chain independently without relying on Credo AI’s attestation.
vCISO Lite

Evidence Graph — hash-chained records anchored to an external RFC-3161 timestamp authority. Independent verifier cron.

Inputs
Every agent action, evidence artifact, policy decision, and framework mapping.
Outputs
Sealed evidence chain · external timestamp attestation · re-derivable proof.
Evidence
Auditor re-derives the chain against the RFC-3161 attestation record; verification does not depend on trusting vCISO Lite.
Fails when
Buyer’s existing audit tooling has not been briefed on RFC-3161 verification; onboarding the audit firm to the RFC-3161 verification pattern takes one call.
CREDO AIAgent action + evidencewritePlatform-internal DBCredo AI proprietary loggingexportAuditor reads logVerification requires trusting Credo AI.vCISO LITE · EVIDENCE GRAPHAgent action + evidencehash + chainHash-chained recordevery block links to the prior hashRFC-3161 anchorre-deriveAuditor verifies chainagainst external anchor recordVerification does not require trusting vCISO Lite.
Credo AI stores; the Evidence Graph proves.Both platforms record what the agent did. Only one produces a record that a party who distrusts the platform can independently verify. This is an architectural difference — not a capability list.
§4.5

Integrity substrate as licensable SDK

Whether the audit-trail primitive is only usable inside the vendor’s product or can also be embedded elsewhere.

Credo AI

Not offered. Audit trail is a proprietary Credo AI capability.

Inputs
N/A
Outputs
N/A
Evidence
N/A
Fails when
Buyer wants to embed the same integrity substrate in a partner product, an internal system, or an insurance-carrier reporting pipeline.
vCISO Lite

Evidence Graph SDK — Library / Hosted / Enterprise / Charter tiers. Same primitive vCISO Lite uses internally, packaged for embedding.

Inputs
Partner platform events, internal-system records, third-party reporting.
Outputs
Signed, externally-anchored, re-derivable evidence chain.
Evidence
The SDK produces the same signed evidence chain the product uses internally; consumers verify against the same RFC-3161 attestation record.
Fails when
Buyer’s use case is only vCISO Lite’s own product surface; SDK licensing is unnecessary optionality.

Framework & control coverage

Framework depth§5

Credo AI publishes 4 AI-specific frameworks on its product page (EU AI Act, NIST AI RMF, ISO 42001, SOC 2). vCISO Lite covers those four plus the 250+ SCF-cross-mapped frameworks (1,468 universal controls)that most mid-market compliance programs actually touch. The gap-fill frameworks vCISO Lite covers natively (and Credo AI doesn’t publish on the AI Governance surface) are highlighted below.

Credo AI[6]

EU AI Act
NIST AI RMF
ISO 42001
SOC 2

vCISO Lite

EU AI Act
NIST AI RMF
ISO 42001
SOC 2
DORA
NYDFS 500
HIPAA
PCI DSS
GDPR
NIST 800-53
NIST 800-171
FedRAMP
CMMC L1
CMMC L2
CMMC L3
ISO 27001
NIST CSF 2.0
ISO 27002
ISO 27701
ISO 22301
HITRUST
SOC 1
SOC 3
CCPA / CPRA
GLBA
CJIS
StateRAMP
TX-RAMP
CIS Controls
CIS Benchmarks
MITRE ATT&CK
NIST 800-63
NIST 800-172
FFIEC CAT
SWIFT CSCF
NIS 2
LGPD
PIPEDA

Pricing & sales motion

How each is bought§6

Two facing pricing stacks — the way a CFO reads a comparison. Amber column is Credo AI; teal column is vCISO Lite.

Credo AI

Contact sales

No list price on any tier[7]

Sales channel
Direct enterprise sales
Direct end-buyer access
Yes, at enterprise scale · self-serve tier not offered
Product SKUs
Not published; single platform, contract-configured
Pricing model
Enterprise annual contract · configuration-dependent
Customer segment
Fortune-500 (Mastercard, Microsoft, IBM, Databricks, McKinsey)[1]
Contract length
Annual minimum · enterprise multi-year typical
AI-governance-native depth
Category-native; regulatory-content knowledge graph + GAIA LLM assistant + first-class agent-framework runtime hooks[3]
Broader-compliance coverage
Not offered · buyer pairs with separate GRC tool
Sales cycle
Book demo → Enterprise procurement → 3–6 weeks to number
vCISO Lite

$0 / mo

Enterprise tier · bundles Trustworthy Autonomy + Evidence Graph + APRI

Sales channel
Direct · founder-accessible
Direct end-buyer access
Yes · Enterprise via /pricing Contact Sales
Product SKUs
Enterprise $8,500/mo bundles Trustworthy Autonomy + Evidence Graph + APRI · lower tiers $299–$1,499/mo do not include AI-governance features
Pricing model
Flat monthly Enterprise number · framework coverage + evaluation harness included · Trustworthy Autonomy per-action pricing pending (expected ~$1.50–$2 per resolved action, not enforced during public beta)
Customer segment
SMB · mid-market · lean security teams
Contract length
Annual or monthly · no multi-year lock required
AI-governance-native depth
Trustworthy Autonomy public beta since 2026-07-07 + Evidence Graph
Broader-compliance coverage
250+ SCF-cross-mapped frameworks (1,468 universal controls) · one platform
Sales cycle
Enterprise: one call · flat MSRP on file (no 3–6 week discovery)

Integration surface

Native connectors§7

Credo AI’s public integrations skew toward hyperscaler ML/agent frameworks (Bedrock-adjacent, LangChain, CrewAI, AutoGen); vCISO Lite’s toward the compliance / risk / diligence stack a mid-market operator actually runs. See vCISO Lite’s full catalog on /features/integrations.

IntegrationCredo AIvCISO Lite
AWSNativeNative
AzureNativeNative
GCPNativeNative
Azure AI FoundryNative
DatabricksNative
SnowflakeNativeNative
LangChainNative
CrewAINative
AutoGenNative
GitHubNativeNative
MLflowNative
JiraNativeNative
SlackNativeNative
ServiceNowNativeNative
OktaNative
Google WorkspaceNative
Microsoft 365Native
GitLabNative
Integration count published?NoNo

Deployment, data, extensibility

Platform architecture§8
AttributeCredo AIvCISO Lite
Service modelSaaS (cloud-referenced on product page); VPC / on-prem not publicly disclosedSaaS multitenant · Enterprise-tier options for isolated deployments on request
Data residencyNot publicly disclosedUS (primary)
Tenant isolationNot publicly disclosedLogical (row-level org scoping)
Public APICustom APIs / webhooks / SDKs / connectors named on product page; specification not publicly disclosedREST + MCP (Model Context Protocol) tool graph · OpenAPI 3.0
SSO / SCIMNot publicly disclosed on product pageSAML 2.0 · OIDC · SCIM 2.0
Audit-trail modelPlatform-internal audit trails · exportable · Credo AI proprietary loggingEvidence Graph · hash-chained per-event · RFC 3161 external timestamp anchor · SDK-licensable
Conversational LLM surfaceGAIA (Govern AI Assistant) · workflow prompts · form-filling suggestions · remediation adviceAPRI (AI-Powered Risk Intelligence) · MCP tool graph · answers cite evidence chain · caller-entitlement scoped
Autonomous operations layerAgent Governor (research preview)Trustworthy Autonomy (public beta 2026-07-07) · published evaluation harness · graduated trust ladder
Own complianceNot publicly disclosed on product pageSOC 2 Type II · ISO 27001 (in progress) · runs on itself

Business-case briefing

For a budget request§9

Personalized briefing

Make the case for vCISO Lite over Credo AI

A PDF business case, personalized to your company, that lays out the three options, the cost math, and the honest tradeoffs — the argument you need to attach to a budget request or take into a vendor-selection meeting.

View pricing

Notes & sources

Provenance§10
  1. [1] Credo AI customer roster (Mastercard, Microsoft, IBM, Databricks, Booz Allen, Principal Financial, AdeptID, McKinsey) from credo.ai/product (accessed 2026-09-14).
  2. [2] Inaugural 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for AI Governance Platforms, published June 16, 2026: credo.ai/recognition/gartner-magic-quadrant-ai-governance-platforms-2026.
  3. [3] Credo AI Risk Intelligence surface — agentic risk assessment, policy inheritance, red-teaming, drift detection — from credo.ai/product (accessed 2026-09-14). Both platforms ship LLM-backed conversational surfaces (Credo AI GAIA · vCISO Lite APRI, see /titanium) and regulatory-content knowledge graphs (Credo AI proprietary · vCISO Lite via Secure Controls Framework); those layers are not per-vendor differentiators. Adversarial-input testing (jailbreak, prompt injection) is what Credo currently ships that vCISO Lite does not.
  4. [4]Credo AI integration surface (AWS, Azure, GCP, Databricks, Snowflake, Azure AI Foundry, LangChain, CrewAI, AutoGen, GitHub, MLflow, Jira, Confluence, Slack, ServiceNow, OneTrust, Archer, Qualys) named on credo.ai/product (accessed 2026-09-14). Buyer’s reference: any integrations not on this list are not currently publicly disclosed.
  5. [5] Fast Company #6 in Applied AI on the 2026 Most Innovative Companies list: credo.ai homepage recognition banner (accessed 2026-09-14).
  6. [6] Credo AI framework list (EU AI Act, NIST AI RMF, ISO 42001, SOC 2) from credo.ai/product (accessed 2026-09-14). vCISO Lite’s 250+ SCF-cross-mapped frameworks (1,468 universal controls) from the Secure Controls Framework crosswalk on /features/compliance.
  7. [7]Credo AI does not publish list pricing on any tier; every prospect is routed to a “Talk to an Expert” form on credo.ai/product and credo.ai/ (accessed 2026-09-14).
  8. EU AI Act citations to Regulation (EU) 2024/1689 — Article 12 (automatic-logging mandate for high-risk AI systems, 6-month minimum audit-log retention) and Article 99 (max fines of €35M or 7% of global turnover).
  9. All product capability claims for both platforms are current as of the “Prepared” date at the top of this page. Credo AI’s product surface is evolving; capabilities may have shipped since. Corrections: /contact.
  10. This page does not compare against IBM watsonx.governance, ServiceNow AI Control Tower, OneTrust AI Governance, Holistic AI, or the other 2026 Gartner MQ vendors on their own merits — each will have its own head-to-head brief under /compare. For the broader category framing and where vCISO Lite sits, see /blog/best-ai-governance-platforms-2026; for the underlying Evidence Graph, see /evidence-graph.